Skip to content

Huffington Post: More gun laws aren’t the answer

January 21, 2011

I’m still gathering my feelings about the shooting of Rep. Gabrielle Giffords in Tucson, Arizona. People shoot other people every day, and yet it seems more frightening when someone attacks the representatives of our government. I think the fear is that society will crack, that the revolution has come. I heard the collective sigh of relief when it came out that Jared Loughner was more Sirhan Sirhan than Andrew Joseph Stack III. That does not diminish this act of violence. Reading about Christina-Taylor Green, the nine-year-old shooting victim, almost did me in for the night. But even if the victims had all been elderly neo-Nazis minding their own business, Loughner’s alleged actions deserve our furious condemnation.

I will write further about the reaction, both from left and right, both good and bad, later. For now, I’ll simply note that Congress and the White House should be commended for their restraint in reacting to this crime. The Dunblane massacre single-handedly ended practical gun ownership in the UK. Enough gun-rights advocates have reminded us (a little too defensively, in my opinion) that guns are not the problem, the person pulling the trigger is. So I won’t repeat that line here. Instead, I’ll let the Huffington Post do it for me: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dan-baum/after-tucson-stricter-gun_b_811696.html.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

